21
Apr
08

The Atari 2600 Cartridges That Weren’t

It is, in fact, fucking checkers

I think I was eleven or twelve when childhood pal Alan Buchbinder left on vacation with his family for a week and let me borrow his Atari 2600 while he was gone. I played that thing until I made myself sick, and that’s not an exaggeration. I flirted with epilepsy, dehydration and starvation, and that was only the first day.

Why so obsessed with the 2600? Well, somewhat due to the exciting cartridge packaging. These were always painted tableaus of drama, espionage, military conflict, dragons and kings – hilarious already since the games themselves were rendered in flickery 8-bit boxes you shoved around using a joystick.

Apparently, this guy has a different, considerably more awesome recollection of the game titles.

(Thanks to Andy Lester)

1 Response to “The Atari 2600 Cartridges That Weren’t”


  1. 1 PlanBFromOuterSpace
    April 27, 2008 at 12:47 am

    I grew up on the 2600 myself, but a little later on, when the NES became big, a friend and I pulled an all-nighter trying to beat “Rampage”, which took several hours. As was the norm at that point, most Data East games simply ended with “Congratulations! The End”, or something similar, and “Rampage” was no exception. That was probably the first time I played a game until I was sick, as I had an incredible headache and it hurt to close my eyes, because neither of us had blinked in probably about an hour and a half. The crushing disappointment didn’t help the situation any. It’s been about 20 years, and I don’t think I’ve played that damn game since.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Email

rob [at] warmowski [dot] com

@warmowski on Twitter

Rob at Huffington Post

Rob on Chicago White Sox Baseball

Rob on Chicago foibles at True/Slant

Rob’s Bands

Rob Warmowski entry at Chicago Punk Database
1984-89: Defoliants
1991-94: Buzzmuscle
2001-05: San Andreas Fault
2008- : Sirs
2008- : Allende
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

