20
Aug
07

andy kaufman and jerry lawler ’82

Wherein Kaufman, the World Intergender Wrestling Champion and one Jerry “The King” Lawler, professional wrestler and proud father culminate their long-running media prank with real combat and thrown coffee.

The editing on this clip cuts out right before a visibly shaken Letterman’s punch line:

“Well, I think you can say some of those words on television.”

4 Responses to “andy kaufman and jerry lawler ’82”


  1. 1 GDD
    August 21, 2007 at 8:32 am

    I’d like to take this opportunity to give Jim Carrey the finger.

  2. August 21, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Indeed. Here’s an interesting question: I wonder who would have been better cast?

    As an aside, I got something extra out of this clip. Greg, you might appreciate it.

    I was at a $25 buyin NLHE tourney a few months ago where two brothers, 40-ish Texans were at the table – at opposite sides. As the alcohol flowed, the decades of acrimony between these two brothers welled up and flooded the game. Brother A, out of the game but not away from the table, kept running his mouth. Eventually, after a protracted screaming match, he jumped across the table in a fratricidal attempt after being invited to “do it, you little bitch.”

    At the time this developed, I was in third place in a tournament where I was about to clean out Brother B and I would have chopped the $200 or so with the #2 guy if I could just get this drunk idiot out of the game. Alas, their tequila-fueled filial hatred won out and interrupted the hand. I was forced to collect my many chips and spirit them to safety because it sure seemed like the table was about to be tossed over. It wasn’t tossed over but if I didn’t get my stack off of there it would have been scattered over three backyards.

    Now back to the video clip – notice when Dave has the Kaufman-Lawler situation around him degenerate on-camera, he kind of lowers his eyes and slumps a little bit? That is exactly what I was doing when the fight started, (while cradling my stack in my forearms). I think we both had that “can’t leave, can’t stay here” problem and I reacted almost exactly like he did. Subconscious influence or animalistic-submissive body language?

  3. 3 GDD
    August 22, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    I vote for animalism.

    I don’t think anyone could have pulled that part off better, although one thing about playing a part like that is you can’t try too hard, so of course Carrey is the worst possible choice.

    On a completely different tangent did you see they cast The Watchmen? Hold me for I am scared.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Email

rob [at] warmowski [dot] com

@warmowski on Twitter

Rob at Huffington Post

Rob on Chicago White Sox Baseball

Rob on Chicago foibles at True/Slant

Rob’s Bands

Rob Warmowski entry at Chicago Punk Database
1984-89: Defoliants
1991-94: Buzzmuscle
2001-05: San Andreas Fault
2008- : Sirs
2008- : Allende
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

